The Rise of the “Histopian” Novel

8681456600_b8f8fba43a_bWhen it came time to publish BLUE, and I was asked to choose a “genre” for the Amazon search fields, I can honestly say that it took me more than 30 minutes to decide where to categorize this crazy book.

BLUE is set in post-Apartheid South Africa, starting in 1995, which technically makes it “Historical Fiction”–which is obviously a genre choice on Amazon.

BUT, BLUE also explores what it would have been like if history would have turned out differently–so, it could technically be considered “alternative history”–which is another genre choice on Amazon.

But, BLUE is ALSO a dystopian story–much like “The Hunger Games” and “Divergent”–set in a society that is the opposite of a “utopia.” A dystopian novel is one that explores a fictional society that is as “dehumanizing and as unpleasant as possible” (thank you Dictionary.com).

Actually, when I started trying to categorize BLUE I didn’t think that it even fit the bill for a “dystopian” novel, because of the fact that it wasn’t set in the future. But I quickly realized after doing some categorical research, that “dystopian” doesn’t technically HAVE to equal FUTURISTIC. It just means that it describes a society that is pretty messed-up– for lack of better words.

And then I had a wonderful fan of mine tell me that there was another book that was set to be released in November that was being labeled “historical dystopian” it is called “The Walled City” and is based on a real-life historical “dystopia”–just like BLUE.

He told me that this new genre is being labeled “HISTOPIAN.”

Finally. I had my genre. Something that I could sum up in one word. Even if it really isn’t a word yet.

And, I must say, it was a relief to feel like I wasn’t just a crazy person that created my own genre.

Now, if only we can convince Amazon to actually make it a real genre. I’d be #1 for sure. šŸ˜‰

Displaying #1 of 1.

#histopianisthenewdystopian

KJ

Leave a Reply

